Peanut Butter and Chocolate Brownie

With all this baking I’ve been doing, I’ve found myself running out of key ingredients, like butter and icing sugar. Unfortunately, I still find myself with the compulsion to bake, but no desire to dash to the supermarket. The good news is, you can still make delicious brownies without butter!I found this recipe, and decided that based on the reviews, I was onto a winner. As a bonus, it helped me to finish off two out of three opened jars of peanut butter in my pantry. Note to self: Stop buying so much peanut butter, you obviously don’t eat as much of it as you think you do! However, now with this recipe up my sleeve, perhaps I might find myself going through a lot more!

This recipe is really simple and only uses a few ingredients. It does, however, give your arm a bit of a workout mixing together the stiff batter. But, I figure it’s kind of like working off the calories you’re about to consume, so maybe it’s a good thing.

peanut butter brownie 1

A few tips for this recipe:

  1. There is a risk of burning when you’re melting together the peanut butter, chocolate and sugar. Make sure you do this over a low heat and stir often, as the mixture is very thick. If you are particularly concerned, you can do this step in a double-boiler.
  2. Make sure you beat the eggs as soon as you crack them it into the pan. If, like me, you feel the urge to wash your hands any time you get a splash of raw egg on them, crack your eggs into a cup first, so you don’t have to do this. This is really important, otherwise you’ll end up with lumps of cooked egg throughout your brownie… and I don’t know about you, but a scrambled egg-brownie fusion doesn’t particularly appeal to me!
  3. The original recipe states a bake time of 30 minutes. This was too long and my first batch of brownies (pictured) were slightly overcooked. The second time I made this recipe, I baked for about 20-25 minutes, and they were much better, with a  lovely sticky fudgy centre (although you almost needed a spoon to scoop out the centre pieces).
  4. You don’t have to use smooth peanut butter to drizzle on top, if you don’t have any on hand. The only issue is that crunchy peanut putter doesn’t drizzle on as nicely, so you end up with lumps (which you can see in my photos). It doesn’t affect the taste though!

peanut butter brownie 3

Peanut Butter and Chocolate Brownie

Ingredients

  • 175g crunchy peanut butter
  • 200g dark chocolate, chopped, divided into two lots of 150g and 50g.
  • 200g soft light brown sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 100g self-raising flour
  • 50g smooth peanut butter

Instructions

  1. Heat oven to 180°C or 160°C (fan bake). Line a 20cm square cake tin with baking paper.
  2. Over a low heat (or double boiler), melt together crunchy peanut butter, 150g chocolate and sugar in a medium saucepan, until sugar has dissolved. Stir frequently to prevent from burning.
  3. Remove from heat, and add eggs, one at a time, beating vigorously with a wooden spoon between additions.
  4. Sift in flour and combine. Pour batter into tray and spread out.
  5. Melt the smooth peanut butter in the microwave and drizzle over the top.
  6. Bake for 20-25 minutes.
  7. Melt the remaining 50g of chocolate in the microwave and drizzle over the top. Allow to cool in the tin.

peanut butter brownie 2

2 thoughts on “Peanut Butter and Chocolate Brownie”

Leave a Reply

