The Liebster Award

Hey gang,

Today’s blog is going to be a bit different… I’ve had a bit of a hectic week, so I haven’t had much time for baking. However, this week I was kindly nominated for the Liebster Award by the lovely Lucya Bakes. From what I gather, this is kind of like a chain letter, with bloggers reciprocally patting each other on the back. Well, a bit cheesy it may be, but it also seems like fun, and who doesn’t like receiving awards, right?! I was totally flattered! Also, I’m really loving discovering new blogs and getting to know people all around the world with a similar passion for baking, and this seems like a good way to contribute to that.Liebster-Award-Large

The Rules of a Liebster Award:

  • Post the Liebster Award logo on your blog, on your homepage or in a post.
  • Link back to your nominator
  • Answer the ten questions they have set up for you.
  • Nominate ten other bloggers for the award (preferably with under 1000 followers) and let them know they’ve been nominated.
  • Think of ten questions for your nominees to answer.

So… here goes!

1.What inspired you to start blogging?

I was out for dinner with some friends, and the idea just sort of popped into my head out of nowhere. I thought it would be a great way to document my recipes so I had them nicely presented. I also thought it would be a great hobby to relieve me of my PhD blues and encourage me to be more creative. I actually put off starting the blog for about six months because I was struggling to come up with a decent name. In the end I just decided to run with the name I had in my head at the time. I’m really enjoying blogging so far!

2.What is the most unusual thing you have eaten?

Ummmm, I’m not sure. Perhaps alpaca stew? I ate it on a trek in Peru. It kind of tasted like beef.

3.What is your favourite meal?

What a tricky question! It really depends on my mood. I really do love a decent burger. With caramelised onions, mushrooms, cheese, avocado, beetroot, a home-made patty, lettuce….. drool.

4.What is your least favourite meal?

I like most foods. I love seafood, but don’t really like oysters… they kind of taste like you’re swallowing sea water.

5.Who are your cooking/ baking inspirations?

My mum is an amazing cook. She’s so sweet, every time we go around for dinner, she always puts on such an impressive meal, treating us like we’re special guests. I think I’ve taken after her a bit in that way, I always want to do a lovely meal if we have guests for tea. I don’t really follow a lot of celebrity chefs, but I often use recipes by Kiwi cooks Alison Holst, Annabel Langbein and Jordan Rondel.

6.What is on the top of your bucket list?

So many things!!! The top few places I want to visit are Spain, Portugal and Morocco. I’d also love to travel to Mexico. And Antarctica. Also, graduating and being able to call myself a doctor is pretty high up there on the list.

7.What is your comfort food?

I don’t know if I really have a comfort food, per se. I get very strong and specific cravings. Maybe nice, warm, crusty garlic bread, that’s pretty comforting.

8.Chocolate Cake or Victoria Sponge?

Chocolate cake! Plain sponge cakes are a bit boring, but I love them jazzed up with some lemon or berries.

9.Favourite meal of the day?

Probably dinner. It’s the most varied meal, so the most interesting. However, I do love going out for brunch on the weekends.

10.Do you have any particular goals for your baking?

I think I want to try some more complex recipes, such as macaroons, which seem a bit daunting to me. I also want to get more well rounded and comfortable with different cooking techniques, such as preserving, bread making and piping (I can never be bothered!). Finally, I want to try making my recipes a bit healthier. I got really worked up the other day when I visited an organic shop in my neighbourhood and saw the prices of all these imported supposed ‘super-foods’. There is no reason for healthy eating to be expensive! I want to try getting creative to make more varied, cheap, healthy meals. However, I don’t tend to blog dinner-type foods… so we’ll see if you see results of this!

  1. What is your day job?
  2. What do you find most challenging about blogging?
  3. Do you have a favourite cookbook? What?
  4. Do you have a favourite type of cuisine? What?
  5. Where is the most interesting place you’ve visited?
  6. What other hobbies do you have?
  7. Of which of your blog posts are you most proud?
  8. If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would it be?
  9. If you had to choose between eating sweet or savoury food for the rest of your life, which would you choose?
  10. Do you have any particular goals for your blogging?

My nominations:

  1. My Healthy Kiwi Kitchen
  2. The Usual Ingredients
  3. The Culinary Jumble 
  4. Two Aprons
  5. Secrets of a Young Wife
  6. Juniper Kitchen
  7. Jolly Crumbs
  8. Maria Simply Smiling 
  9. My Bolivian Cookbook
  10. Pies, Petals & Pound Cake

Phew! Searching through all the blogs I follow to find ones that don’t have gazillions of followers and haven’t already received this award was hard work! I follow quite a lot of blogs, but that was tougher than I expected. I really hope you guys will participate, I’d love to see your answers to my questions! Thanks again to Lucya Bakes for the nomination!

Until next time!

Rebecca 🙂

1 thought on “The Liebster Award”

Leave a Reply

