It’s that time of year again!

Hello!

Yes, it is that time of year again: Easter! My birthday! Autumn! Impending doom!

Easter!

Which, when it comes to baking and sweet treats, means Hot Cross Buns and Easter Eggs. I’ve just pulled a tray of Chocolate Hot Cross Buns out of the oven, and boy are they delicious! I’m not going to add the recipe in this post, because I’ve already shared two recipes for these on the blog, standard Hot Cross Buns, and Chocolate Hot Cross Buns, so you can check them out if you want to have a go. Both are delicious. They are a bit of work, but so worth it. They are much tastier than the supermarket ones. I made chocolate ones today using a mixture of dark and milk chocolate… divine!

2016-03-20_16.21.44.jpg

My birthday!

Yes… I just celebrated my 27th birthday. Can I still claim to be in my mid-twenties? I’m going to say yes, because 30 is still a wee way off, and much too scary to think about! I actually got asked for my ID last night at a bar, even though I’ve now legally been able to buy alcohol for a third of my life. I’m taking it as a compliment!

I had a pretty good day. We celebrate a lot of birthdays in March in my family, and in the lab, so there was ample baking to be had, which was delightful. I didn’t even make anything myself! My friends also organised a surprise birthday dinner for me, which was super nice!

I got lots of lovely presents, including a very interesting cookbook by Honey & Co which I’m very eager to try out! Lots of yummy and interesting Middle Eastern recipes, woohoo!

wp-1458445884169.jpg
Salted Caramel Cake I made last weekend for a BBQ. Beautiful birthday flowers from my friend’s garden!

Autumn!

To tell you the truth, I’m never particularly excited to see the days getting shorter and the temperature dropping. But, alas, it is that time of year. On the plus side, all the tasty autumn produce should be arriving in the shops soon, so I’m looking forward to that! I can’t wait for feijoas!

Impending doom!

Okay, well maybe I’m being a bit melodramatic… but… well… so be it. As of March 1st, I’m officially in my fourth year of doctoral studies and I must finish within the year. I can’t quite believe how fast time has gone and I’m trying my best not to panic. After all, I am supposed to be keeping calm and caking. I’ve been pretty busy lately, and I foresee that this is the pattern I will keep for the rest of the year, so hopefully I can still bake from time to time.

So, on that cheerful note, I bid you well! Have a great Easter and enjoy the change of seasons, wherever you are in the world!

2 thoughts on “It’s that time of year again!”

Leave a Reply

