My first ‘Key’ Lime Pie

Well, it seems that I’m on a bit of an American kick with my baking lately. Possibly because I’m off to San Francisco in a couple of weeks for a conference. I can’t wait!!!

Limes are normally so expensive, so when I saw a big bag of them at the Chinese supermarket for $4, I couldn’t resist! The aroma of lime brings to mind so many fond memories, largely involving cocktails! 😀 I decided it was high time I made my first Key Lime Pie. 

wp-1463905903447.jpg
Lemons and limes for a bargain!

Now, for all you sticklers out there (I’m looking at you ambar_ar, on the BBC recipe comment sections, you ridiculous, trolling nit-picker you), yes, I know, technically it’s not a Key Lime Pie without Key limes. But I live in Auckland for goodness sakes. Florida is on the other side of the world. We just don’t get them here.

wp-1463906699218.jpg

This recipe is really not as tricky as you’d think. Time consuming, yes. Technically challenging, no. Apparently if you microwave limes for 10 seconds, you get double the amount of juice out of them. I wish I’d known that, as juicing the limes was painful… literally. The juice stings!

wp-1463908470460.jpg

But the pie was worth it! I was praised to high heavens by my friends, which was great for my ego. And I got to practice my very poor piping skills. It would have been much prettier with a larger nozzle. Normally I’m not really into serving things with cream, but it really worked a treat with the tartness of the pie.

These would be really easy to adapt to be gluten-free: just use gluten-biscuits! Also, they work pretty well as individual pies in cupcake patties. They just need slightly less time in the oven.

wp-1464426592348.jpg

Key Lime Pie

Ingredients

For the base:

  • 175g biscuits (Malt biscuits or Digestives work well)
  • 2 tablespoons caster sugar
  • 70g butter, melted

For the filling:

  • 400ml can sweetened condensed milk
  • 125ml freshly squeezed lime juice (about 7 limes)
  • finely grated zest from 3 limes
  • 4 egg yolks

To serve:

  • 300ml whipping cream
  • 1 tablespoon icing sugar

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 160ºC, conventional bake. Grease a 23cm tart tin.
  2. Blitz biscuits in a food processor to form crumbs. Alternatively place the biscuits in a plastic bag and pound with a rolling pin. Add melted butter and caster sugar and mix to combine.
  3. Press crumbs evenly into the tart tin and bake for 5 minutes.
  4. Whisk together sweetened condensed milk, lime juice, lime zest, and yolks. Pour over the base and bake for 15 minutes, or until set around the edges, but wobbly in the centre.
  5. Leave to cool, then chill in the fridge for at least 2 hours.
  6. Whip cream and sugar together. Use to top the pie- you can smear it all over or pipe it on as I did. Serve the pie with any remaining whipped cream on the side.

wp-1464426896119.jpg

2 thoughts on “My first ‘Key’ Lime Pie”

Leave a Reply

