Gingernuts

Hello friends,

Welcome back! I’ve been doing some work on my website, which I think makes the site easier to read and navigate. I hope you’ll have a little look around and let me know what you think!

Despite two long weekends in a row (bliss!), I haven’t done much baking for the blog, so I thought I’d better whip something up. I always forget how great biscuit making is. They’re easy and fast to make, bake and cool quickly due to their small size, and they don’t require any decoration, so you get to taste them almost straight out of the oven. Also, as a bonus, if you use baking paper, washing up is a breeze. You might be seeing more biscuits on the blog, I think. 

wp-1454903387320.jpg

I’ve always had a soft spot for hard and crunchy Gingernuts. They aren’t too sweet, and make for a great afternoon snack, with a cup of tea. In fact, that’s what I’m doing as I write this blog! I really love the spicy flavour of ginger… in tea, baked goods, or as crystallised ginger. Yum!

wp-1454903555697.jpg

This recipe comes from my new cookbook, Bake, which I was given as a Christmas present from my husband. This book has 180 recipes from all around the globe, with snippets of history and photos containing step-by-step instructions. I really enjoy looking through cookbooks, and this is a great one for that. My only qualm is that it doesn’t contain a recipe for the cake on the front cover – who does that?!

wp-1454902952509.jpg
Awesome new cookbook, however don’t expect to find the recipe for the cake on the front cover!

Gingernuts

Ingredients

  • 125g butter
  • 70g golden syrup
  • 350g self-raising flour
  • pinch of salt
  • 200g caster sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 tablespoon ground ginger
  • 1 egg, beaten

Instructions

  1. Preheat the oven to 160ºC, conventional bake. Prepare two baking trays with baking paper. Alternatively, grease with butter.
  2. Heat butter and golden syrup in a small saucepan over a low heat until butter has melted. Stir to combine. Remove from the heat and allow to cool slightly.
  3. In the meantime, sift together the dry ingredients into a large bowl and stir to combine.
  4. Pour melted butter and golden syrup into the dry ingredients. Add the beaten egg and quickly stir until everything is well combined.
  5. Using your hands, form the dough into about 30 walnut-sized balls. Place onto prepared baking trays with a bit of space inbetween them. Flatten slightly with your fingers.
  6. Bake for 15-20 minutes. Allow to cool slightly before transferring onto a wire rack.
2016-02-08_16.47.32.jpg
Enjoy with a cup of tea!

7 thoughts on “Gingernuts”

Leave a comment